DSTDarksteel

Neurok Transmuter

Neurok Transmuter from Darksteel
Neurok Transmuter from Darksteel

Creature — Human Wizard   {2}{U} (CMC:3)

{U}: Target creature becomes an artifact in addition to its other types until end of turn. {U}: Until end of turn, target artifact creature becomes blue and isn't an artifact.

27 DST • ENMark Zug

Legal in: Modern,Mirrodin Block,Legacy,Vintage,Freeform,Prismatic,Tribal Wars Legacy,Classic,Singleton 100,Commander

Oracle Text (click to copy):

View this MTG card on Gatherer
12/1/2004
Neurok Transmuter's second ability removes the type "artifact" -- and any artifact subtypes -- from the artifact creature it targets. It doesn't remove any other types or any subtypes of other types, and it doesn't remove supertypes. If the artifact was Legendary, it's still Legendary, and the "Legendary rule" applies normally.
12/1/2004
Equipment that stops being an artifact loses the subtype "Equipment." Permanents without the subtype Equipment can't equip creatures. Of course, artifact creatures can't equip anything either.
12/1/2004
Neurok Transmuter's second ability interacts strangely with March of the Machines from the Mirrodin set. If an artifact is an artifact creature only because March of the Machines is on the battlefield and you then activate Neurok Transmuter's second ability on that artifact creature, the result is a permanent with no types whatsoever. Neurok Transmuter's ability removes the type "artifact." March of the Machines depends on knowing what is and isn't an artifact. The permanent won't be an artifact when March of the Machine's effect is applied and therefore it won't be turned into a creature.

USD
TCG Prices:   High Avg Low   Foil
$1.90 $0.23 $0.06 $0.44