The golden rule of revenge: Do unto others what they tried to do unto you.
74 8ED • ENJeremy Jarvis
™ & © 1993—2003 Wizards of the Coast
Legal in: Modern,Ice Age Block,Legacy,Vintage,Freeform,Prismatic,Tribal Wars Legacy,Singleton 100,Commander
Oracle Text (click to copy):
View this MTG card on Gatherer
10/4/2004 Once the spell resolves, the new target is considered to be targeted by the deflected spell. This will trigger any effects which trigger on being targeted. 10/4/2004 This only targets the spell being changed, not the original or new target of the spell it is affecting. 10/4/2004 The target of a spell that targets another spell on the stack can be changed to any other spell on the stack, even if the new target will resolve before the spell does. 10/4/2004 You can't make a spell which is on the stack target itself. 10/4/2004 You can choose to make a spell on the stack target this spell (if such a target choice would be legal had the spell been cast while this spell was on the stack). The new target for the deflected spell is not chosen until this spell resolves. This spell is still on the stack when new targets are selected for the spell. 10/4/2004 If there is no other legal target for the spell, this does not change the target. 10/4/2004 This does not check if the current target is legal. It just checks if the spell has a single target. 10/4/2004 You choose the spell to target on announcement, but you pick the new target for that spell on resolution. 2/1/2009 If a spell targets multiple things, you can't target it with Deflection, even if all but one of those targets has become illegal. 2/1/2009 If a spell targets the same player or object multiple times, you can't target it with Deflection.